Summer in Halkidiki

In the last posts I’ve mentioned my adventure in Greece, so I think it’s time to talk a little about it. This last summer, from the end of June to the middle of September, I decided to enjoy Greece as much as I could. I was going to work for two months at Oceania Club Ultra All-Inclusive Resort, in Nea Moudania, Halkidiki.

I must admit that the first times weren’t easy. For a girl who was only used to work at some small/medium events, it was a little bit hard to get used to work 10 hours per day, always in stress and in a hurry, and with only 4 days-off per month. I didn’t sleep that much, I couldn’t spend much money because I only had 150€ for a month and a half (of course, food and accomodation were provided, so I didn’t had that much to spend my money), I was tired, my feet were in ultimate pain… Well, all my body was in ultimate pain. Then, I got homesick, I missed my family, my dogs, my friends, my country… I didn’t have Internet in my room, so it was difficult to catch up the news, and so on… I can say that the first month was a bit of hell, for me.  I was a little baby crying and complaining about the people that made me feel like shit and all the competition for such stupid things like glasses and cutlery.

One day, I decided to change completely my mind. I told myself to do better and to be better. To stop crying and complaining because I wasn’t the only one in that situation and there was some people who was in a even worst hell and didn’t complain at all. I started to really appreciate my mates, that became my friends. I started to feel less tired and some days were actually satisfying.

Well, it turned up to be the most amazing times I had. I met great people, I went to awesome places, I took a lot of rides, I re-learned to appreciate simple things, I fell in love with that small town because of everything that meant to me. My personal growth, my first real adventure far away from my country and all my routine, discovering myself and what I am capable of. All the tears and all the pain was totally worth it. They became smiles, fun, friends and family.

Truth is, you can travel around the world, you can go to a thousand places and never get to know their true essence. You must live there for a while, to get into their culture, to meet and talk with the locals, so you can really understand them. I fell in love with Greece because of the people. They are kind and genuine, they treat you like family even if you are a total stranger. They are things I can’t even explain because you must know them to feel them. They are truly unforgettable.

Leave a Reply

